WIFA Women’s Championship Group Standing and Review

WIFA Women’s Championship Group Standing and Review

It’s been more than a week since the WIFA Women’s Championship has gone underway. With all the Group Stage coming to an end yesterday, the stage is set for the semi-finals which will be played tomorrow at Cooperage Stadium. Bodyline SC, United Poona SA, Aadhar Pratishtan and FC Pune City has made it to the last four after being stand-out performers across both the Groups.

Group A:

The Group A kicked off on 23rd June at Cooperage when United Poona SA met Poddar International in the opening match of the Tournament. UPSA’s Aishwarya Balapure left no stone unturned as she helped her side snatch all three points in a 3-2 victory. She scored twice and assisted the other goal to start UPSA campaign on a winning note. The very next day, Mumbai’s Bodyline SC caused havoc when they overcame United Poona SA 7-0, courtesy of Karen Pais’ sublime hat-trick.

After suffering a narrow defeat in the first match, Poddar International displayed a brilliant performance to sink Rahul FC 5-0 after Pranali Chauhan emulated Karen Pais’ to score a hat-trick for her side. Continuing from where they had left in the first match, Bodyline registered an identical 7-0 win against Poddar International to book their place in the last four with a game to play.

Aishwarya Balapure also continued her spectacular form as she finally managed to score a hat-trick when United Poona SA run riot against Rahul FC in a comfortable 7-0 win. The win also booked UPSA’s berth in the last four along with Bodyline SC.

Bodyline completed their group stage campaign with another staggering performance when they trounced Rahul FC 10-0 as Karen Pais scored four goals to end up as Group A top goal-scorer with eight goals in three games.

WIFA Women’s Championship Group A standings

 Group B:

Group B didn’t saw as many goals as in the first. This turned out to be more of an organized and defensive unit. Group B went underway on 28th June when Aadhar Pratishtan faced FC Pune City. Jyotika Singh scored the decisive goal in the 55th minute to seal the victory for the Mumbai-based side at Cooperage.

In the second match of the day, a goal each from Mrunal Khot and Aishwarya Havaldar proved enough for KSA Women’s FC as they registered a narrow 2-0 victory over Tirpude SC. On matchday two, Tirpude SC suffered another loss when they went down 2-0 against Aadhar Pratishtan, courtesy of Priya Tiwari and Malaika Chauhan’s strike in the second-half.

FC Pune City fought back after losing against Aadhar Pratishtan when an injury time goal by Muriel Adam helped the Pune outfit to snatch all three points against KSA Women’s FC. On the last matchday, FC Pune City confirmed their place in the last four with a 2-0 win over Tirpude SC, thanks to Senorita Noughpluh’s twin strikes.

Aadhar Pratishtan finished their Group stage campaign as the winners with FC Pune City finishing as the runner-up.

Semi-finals fixtures: Bodyline SC (Mumbai) vs FC Pune City (Pune) and Aadhar Pratishtan (Mumbai) vs United Poona SA (Pune).

WIFA Women’s Championship Group B standings

Share this!

Subscribe to our RSS feed. Tweet this! StumbleUpon Reddit Digg This! Bookmark on Delicious Share on Facebook