Rovers Cup

  • 120 year old legacy revived
  • Teams – 8 I-League and 4 Foreign teams
  • Format – QF Group (4 groups of 3 teams each), Semis and Finals
  • Total Prize Money – TBD
  • Venue – All new Cooperage

The second oldest football tournament in the World after Durand Cup (1888), The Rovers Cup is set to make a comeback sometime next year. Started in 1891 and last held in the 2000-01. The WIFA plans to stage the Rovers Cup in the renovated and refurbished Cooperage Stadium.

Rovers Cup’s glorious past is quite deep-rooted and it dates back to an era when most of the European and Latin American football super-powers were yet to be introduced to this beautiful game. In the year 1891, Rovers Cup was unveiled by the British football enthusiasts in Bombay under the umbrella of the Rovers Club, which was patronaged by Honorable Mr. Justice Russell. The first edition of the tournament featured different regimental outfits of British Army. The 1st Worcester Regiment was the victorious team in the debut edition of the tournament in 1891.

The Rovers Cup back in the day had been the premier football competition in India and was started by British football enthusiasts in Bombay in 1891. However it would not be until three decades that an Indian team participated in the competition. Mohun Bagan in 1923 became the first Indian team to play in the Rovers Cup, where they lost in the finals to Durham Light Infantry by a scoreline of 1-4.

Mohun Bagan have been the most successful team in the history of Rovers Cup by winning the coveted crown a whopping 14 times, besides securing the runners-up trophy on another 10 occasions. The Great Kolkata Rivalry marked its presence after independence as the other Kolkata bigwig East Bengal went on to match their cross-city rivals with one after another Rovers Cup title. East Bengal are the second most successful team in Rovers Cup with 10 Champions and 4 Runners-up crowns.

‘To know more contact your local ‘DFA” or ‘WIFA’