Latest News: To Download AIFF 'D' Licence Course Form - Click Here

Awards and goals galore as football caravan arrives at Jalgaon

Awards and goals galore as football caravan arrives at Jalgaon

Day 1 of the 2019 Wifa Inter-District Championship Sub-Junior Boys was a success partly due to the opening ceremony.

The 2019 Wifa Inter-District Championship Sub-Junior Boys is hosted by the Western India Football Federation (WIFA) and Jalgaon District Football Association (JDFA).

Pinch Jeera Masala, Stamina Apple Fizzy Fruit Drink, Mahaveer Classes, Jain Irrigation Systems Pvt. Ltd, WIFA, Jain Sports Academy, Meera Cola and Pride are the major sponsors.

A glimpse into the opening ceremony. Dr. Anita Kolhe (joint Secretary, JDFA) elaborated as to how football can be a tool for education and societal development.

The winners’ trophy was unveiled and balloons and crackers were burst in celebration.

Mr. Kishor Raje Nimbalkar (district commissioner, Jalgaon), Mr. Mohammed Kalim (match commissioner, AIFF), Mr. Mohammed Abid (ex-treasurer, WIFA) and Mr. Farooq Shaikh (secretary, JDFA) gave away the respective awards.

Best Player Award: Aditya Vichare (Palghar), Sanket Medhe (Kolhapur), Altamash Khan (Nanded), Harshal Patle (Gondhia) and Shaikh Sufiyan (Amravati).

Spirit of Sport Award: Mohammed Sabir (Parbhani).

Token of appreciation (match officials): Mr. Abhinav Dinesh Mhala, Sharib Khan, Yogesh Hiremath, Ramiz Shaikh, Saurab Gorey, Shashwat Sakhare, Gaurav Mane, Santosh Kamble, Naveen Hirekerur, Saurabh Cheke.

Six games were played at the Chattrapati Shivaji Maharaj Zilla Krida Sankul Ground.

Palghar beat Parbhani in the first game thanks to Alan Sequeira’s superlative performance. His first-minute goal was a tournament record! Aditya Vichare and Santosh Rawat also scored for Palghar.

Palghar – 3 (Alan Sequeira(1’), Aditya Vichare (37’), Santosh Rawat (51’)) beat Parbhani – 1 (Khaja Farman (16’))

Kolhapur scored nine against Hingoli in the second game. Swayam Shinde and Sanket Mede scored a hat trick. Gandharva Chavan and Prem Desai also scored. Kolhapur’s strike-force was too good on the day.

Kolhapur – 9 (Gandharva Chavan (6’), Swayam Shinde (10’, 12’, 24’), Prem Desai (21’), Sanket Mede (29’, 32’, 37’), Shravan Shinde (40’)) beat Hingoli – 0

Nanded beat Latur in the third game thanks to goals from Mohammed Shaizan and Altamash Khan. They had enough in the tank to see off Latur’s feeble challenge.

Nanded – 2 (Mohammed Shaizan (22’), Altamash Khan (47’)) beat Latur – 0

Gondia beat Osmanabad in the fourth game thanks to Harshal Patle’s brace. Intelligent dribbling, passing and off-the-ball work was the hallmark for Gondia. Patle did the star turn for Gondia.

Gondia – 2 (Harshal Patle (20’, 38’) beat Osmanabad – 0

Amravati eased to a 5-0 win against Bhandara in the fifth game. Two goals from Bhushan Gedam and Shaikh Sufiyan helped them uncork a tight defence. Atharve Chavan (who scored) and Sameer Rathod were the key players for Amravati.

Amravati – 5 (Bhushan Gedam (25’, 48’), Atharve Chavan (36’), Shaikh Sufiyan (43’, 44’)) beat Bhandara – 0

Solapur hit six past Chandrapur in the final game. Tarpan Tekade scored twice and Siddhant Bavi, Anirudh Kamruti, Yugandher Kadam and Shivam Musale were the other goal scorers. Tushar Irkule’s goal was the only positive for Chandrapur.

Solapur – 6 (Siddhant Bavi (3’), Anirudh Kamruti (5’), Yugandhere Kadam (10’), Tarpan Tekade (19’, 43’), Shivam Musale (33’) beat Chandrapur – 1 (Tushar Irkude (3’))

More action (and awards!) is in the offing on Day 2 of the 2019 Wifa Inter-District Championship Sub-Junior Boys… stay tuned.

Share this!

Subscribe to our RSS feed. Tweet this! StumbleUpon Reddit Digg This! Bookmark on Delicious Share on Facebook