Monthly Archives April 2018

Nagpur defeat Kolhapur to lift WIFA Inter-District Women’s Championship title

Nagpur defeat Kolhapur to lift WIFA Inter-District Women’s Championship title

25th April 2018, Nashik: Earlier today, in the final of WIFA Inter-District Women’s Championship, Nagpur played Kolhapur in a thrilling contest at Nashik. After both the sides failed to score in the normal time, Nagpur defeated Kolhapur 4-3 on penalties to lift the title and end their campaign on a superb note. Both Nagpur and Kolhapur had crashed Mumbai and Pune’s title hopes in the semis which was nothing short of a spectacular result.

Though Nagpur and Kolhapur had to go through the penalty shootout in order to defeat their counterparts, it was a brilliant performance to eliminate two of the likeliest finalists. When both these sides faced earlier today, it became a historic moment for both these districts who were playing each other for the very first time in the final.

Throughout the game, Nagpur and Kolhapur defended superbly. They knew that even conceding a single goal will turn out to be fatal considering how good their defense has been over the last one week. At the full-time whistle, the score was still tied at 0-0 as the match headed towards the ultimate showdown, penalty shootout.

For Kolhapur, only Pratiksha Mhatre, Mrunal Khot and Aadhika Bhosale managed to convert their spot kicks while Sunita Yadav, Riya Sukhdev, Shraddha Yadav and Anni Anthony converted for Nagpur to clinch the title in the sudden death. A great campaign for both the districts which has etched into the history books. What a memorable Championship this turned out to be, a battleground, contested between the underdogs.

Read More »

Women’s Inter-District: Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur & Kolhapur in semis

Women’s Inter-District: Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur & Kolhapur in semis

22nd April 2018, Mumbai: The four semi-finals berth has been confirmed in the ongoing WIFA Inter-District Women’s Championship at Nashik. Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur and Kolhapur have qualified for the last four after registering an astounding victory on Sunday. Mumbai will play Kolhapur, whereas, Pune will face Nagpur in the semi-finals.

Mumbai (Namrata Thakur 1′, 10′, 21′ & 38′, Khushboo Rathod 24′, Samchi 31′, Snehal Manchkar 39′ and Kashmira Pednekar 49′) 8-0 Sangli

Namrata Thakur continued her spectacular performance after adding further four goals in her ‘goal-tally’ which inspired Mumbai to register a whopping 8-0 win over Sangli. Namrata has now scored eight goals in just two games. The likes of Khushboo Rathod, Samchi, Snehal and Kashmira also got on the scoresheet in what was a deserving win.

Nagpur 0-0 Nashik (Nagpur won 4-1 in penalties)

After both the sides failed to score in the normal time, the match had to separate by penalties where  Nagpur won 4-1 to qualify for the semis. Nirmala Dhurve, Harsha Yadav, Riya and Shraddha Yadav converted their spot kicks for Nagpur while only Rutuja managed to convert her penalty for Nashik.

Kolhapur (Poornima Sale 13′ and Mrunal Khot 26′) 2-1 Gondia (Archana 8′)

Kolhapur and Gondia played out an eventful game where the former edged 2-1 to book their date against Mumbai in the semi-final. Gondia opened the scoring in the 8th minute through Archana but Kolhapur made a great comeback through Poornima and Mrunal’s strike to seal the game 2-1.

Pune (Abhilasha 21′ & 35′, Hiba 25′, and Adam Muriel 43′) 4-0 Osmanabad

A dominant performance by Pune as they registered a comprehensive 4-0 win over Osmanabad in the quarter-final. Abhilasha bagged a brace while Hiba and Adam Muriel scored one each to set up a semi-final clash against Nagpur in the semi-final.

Read More »

Mumbai,Pune, Kolhapur, Nashik & Nagpur win big in Women’s Inter-District

Mumbai,Pune, Kolhapur, Nashik & Nagpur win big in Women’s Inter-District

21st April 2018, Mumbai: The ongoing WIFA Inter-District Women’s Championship at Nashik saw a total of seven matches being contested earlier today. Championship’s favourites Pune, Mumbai, Kolhapur, Nashik and Nagpur comprehensively booked their place in the next round of the tournament with an excellent attacking display.

Pune (Aishwarya Jagtap 18′, 29′ & 43′, Adam Muriel 12′ & 35′, Sonali Chemate 27′ and Pratima Mukhia 42′) 7-0 Jalgaon

Aishwarya Jagtap and Adam Muriel’s lethal combination upfront proved instrumental as Pune defeated Jalgaon 7-0 in the pre-quarters of Inter-District Women’s Championship. Aishwarya netted a fine hat-trick while Adam Muriel bagged two goals. The other two goal-scorers was Sonali Chemate and Pratima Mukhia.

Mumbai (Namrata Thakur 6′, 11′, 15′ & 20′, Meenakshi Bhagat 2′ & 31′, Samchi 3′, Laura Estebeiro 24′ and Deepika Masurkar 40′) 9-0 Solapur

In the other game, Pune’s arch-rivals Mumbai produced a scintillating attacking display to trounce Solapur 9-0 in their opening game. Prolific Namrata Thakur scored an outstanding four goals in the first-half followed by Meenakshi’s brace and a goal apiece from Samchi, Laura Estebeiro and Deepika Masurkar. It was a dream start Mumbai wished for.

Nagpur (Nirmala Dhurve 1′, 9′ & 35′, Rinky Yadav 2′ & 10′, Sunita Yadav 5′, Nikita Karmakar 6′, Harsha Yadav 13′, Riya Sukhdeye 39′, and Nikita Shende 38′) 10-0 Washim

The biggest winner of the day proved to be Nagpur who defeated Washim 10-0 in a one-sided affair. There were seven different goal-scorers for Nagpur in what was a spectacular display. Nirmala Dhurve scored a hat-trick while Rinky Yadav (2), Sunita Yadav, Nikita Karmakar, Harsha Yadav, Riya Sukhdeye, and Nikita Shende also got on the scoresheet.

Kolhapur (Aadhika Bhosale 25 +1′ and Pratiksha Mithani 32′, 43′, 44′ & 45′) 5-0 Bhandara

Just like Mumbai’s Namrata Thakur, Kolhapur had their very own prolific goal-scorer by the name of Pratiksha Mithani who scored four goals in a 5-0 Kolhapur win against Bhandara. Aadhika Bhosale, meanwhile, scored the other goal.

Other results: Palghar 0-4 Nashik (Rutuja Aher 9′, Disha Joshi 20′, Swajal Pawar 28′ and Chitra Korate 49′), Gondia (Heena Yadav 17′ & 29′, Tripti Deep 42′ & 45′ and Diksha Bansol 49′) 5-0 Dhule, Sangali 0-0 Amravti (Sangli won 1-0 in penalties)

Read More »

Dhule and Sangli triumphs in Inter-District Football Women’s Championship

Dhule and Sangli triumphs in Inter-District Football Women’s Championship

Earlier today at Nashik, WIFA (Western India Football Association) Inter-District Football Women’s Championship got underway. A total of two games were contested today. In the first game, Dhule played Ahmednagar while in the second and last game of the day, Aurangabad locked horns against Sangli. Dhule and Sangli rose to the occasion to kick-off their campaign on a winning note.

Dhule (Megha Patil) 2-0 Ahmednagar

Dhule displayed a determined performance to pick up a well-deserved 2-0 win. Megha Patil scored twice, first in the 24th minute and second in the 31st minute. Both the goals was a sublime finish, leaving goalkeeper absolutely no chance to save.

Aurangabad 0-1 Sangli (Aishwarya More 24′)

In the second and final game of the day, Sangli defeated Aurangabad 1-0. The goal came in the 24th minute with a brilliant goal by Aishwarya More. Sangli produced a determined display throughout the game and never left any space behind for Aurangabad to pounce on. In the end, it was a deserving win for Sangli.

Read More »